Cooking, Home, Uncategorized

Pumpkin Spice Latte

Dear Friends, I’m not sure if you are like me, but the first sign of fall and I want me some pumpkin_______. Yes, it’s a blank. I like pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, pumpkin bars and I absolutely love pumpkin coffee. I know it’s sad, but even the kind that’s in the powdered form from a convenience store. I love that one also.

I found lots of recipes, for a whole pot or even a crock pot full for a party, but never just for one. To my delight, I stumbled on a recipe for Pumpkin Spice Latte in my local HEB. They put out a publication called My Texas Life and in this month’s edition, there it was, waiting for me.

1/2 cup whole milk

2 T. canned pumpkin

1 t. pumpkin pie spice

1 t. vanilla

1 1/2 cups strong hot coffee

1 T. half-and-half

sugar or stevia to taste

whipped cream, cinnamon and nutmeg for topping

1. In a glass measuring cup or microwave-safe bowl, whisk together milk, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and vanilla.

2. Microwave 1 to 2 minutes on high. Watch closely; remove from microwave when milk is hot and frothy.

3. Carefully pour milk mixture into a tall mug. add hot coffee and half-and-half. Sweeten to taste.

4. Top with whipped cream and sprinkle with nutmeg and cinnamon.

Makes 1 serving.

I guess the reason I was so excited when I found the recipe was 2 fold. I try to limit my sugar and I don’t drink caffeine. I was able to create this recipe for me. (no caffeine and no sugar) I used one packet of stevia for my sweetener and of course I chose decaffeinated coffee.

If you shop at HEB pick up your copy and turn to page 34. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. (I’m even drinking one as I type this) I’m hooked.

Leave a comment